Mad March? More like Mad April

April is Autism Awareness Month. Several organisations and areas (like Guam, for instance) have “lit it up blue”. I, like many self advocates, am “toning it down taupe”, as “Light it up blue” was started by “Autism Speaks”.
There has been a Meningitis C outbreak in Nigeria. The WHO and others have been supplying vaccines to contain infection.
I’m going to a SIGiST Meeting next week Wednesday. I’ll write about it.
Finally, even I’m getting fatigued with what’s happening in South African political circles. Shortly after Midnight on March 31, President Jacob Zuma dismissed Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan and Deputy Finance Minister Mcebisi Jonas, and replaced them with Mmalusi Gigaba and Sfiso Buthelezi respectively.
The response was immediate. Ratings Agencies Fitch and Standard and Poor’s downgraded South Africa to Junk Status, and Moody’s will almost certainly also do so. On April 12, Jacob Zuma’s 75th birthday, mass protests organised by opposition political parties called on him to step down. ANC insiders have also urged Zuma to reverse his decision or resign the presidency. Zuma, however, has declared he is staying put.
Hoo boy.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.