Running back towards the cliff

On Tuesday, Minister of Finance Pravin Gordhan delivered the Budget Speech.
One fact was abundantly clear: the tax kitty is depleted. South Africa’s government doesn’t have the money to fulfill all its obligations.
In the same week as Gordhan’s Budget Speech, the Minister and Deputy Minister of Mineral Resources (Mosebenzi Zwane and Godfrey Oliphant) were allocated a Mercedes Benz S400 and Porsche Cayenne respectively. This is despite “austerity measures” which supposedly limited the cost of new vehicle purchases to R750,000. In addition, Brian Molefe, who as CEO of Eskom drove the State Owned Enterprise into the ground, was appointed a Member of Parliament.
What the actions above show is a government that doesn’t understand, doesn’t care, or both. Almost 23 years of bad decisions, incompetence, corruption, patronage and snouting have caused matters to reach a critical point. Yet still it continues on its course, refusing to address the issues and their underlying causes. And how can it, when the President was found liable for using state money upgrades at his private residence, and yet only had to pay back a fraction of the money squandered?
Some people have mentioned a tax boycott. I don’t have that option as my income tax is taken off my salary directly. Yet I completely understand the anger. Ferial Haffajee, Editor at Large for Huffington Post South Africa, has an Opinion Piece “I Want Some Service For My Tax“. I totally agree with her. Like her, over the last few years, I have been paying more and more and getting less and less. And so has everyone else. And I’m fed up.
Unless things change very soon, South Africa will become another African failure: a country that started out with so much promise, only to be brought down by corruption and incompetence.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.