On Autism Awareness Month and Vaxxed

Yesterday was Autism Awareness Day.
I did not “light it up blue”. Instead, I had what for me was a typical Saturday. I did my laundry and went shopping for groceries. Life doesn’t stop just because there’s an advocacy/awareness day.
I’m also a bit uneasy with “Light it up blue”. It’s the brainchild of the organisation Autism Speaks. Autism Speaks is notorious among the self-advocacy community for its maintaining the “autism as tragedy” narrative, for using only four cents of every dollar to help autistics and for not listening to autistic people. In November 2013, it put out a “call for action” that denigrated autistics. As a result, John Elder Robison, the only autistic board member of Autism Speaks, resigned. As far as I know, Autism Speaks currently doesn’t have any autistics on their board.
The Andrew Wakefield “documentary” Vaxxed: From Cover Up to Catastrophe was shown at the Angelika Theatre in New York on April 1 (how appropriate). I’m not going to bother commenting. It’s a pack of lies. You know it and so do I. Sadmar’s comment here links to a bunch of reviews and articles if you’re interested.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Anti-antivaccination, Autism Awareness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.