Vaccines and autism, a wedding, predictions and a group to be banned

Some news stories caught my eye.
Firstly, yet another study came to the conclusion that vaccines, and in particular thimerosal, do not cause autism. It was the follow up to a study which saw macaques given various vaccine schedules to see if they developed symptoms consistent with autism. The study is “Administration of thimerosal-containing vaccines to infant rhesus macaques does not result in autism-like behavior or neuropathology”.
Amusingly, two of the funders of the study were Safeminds and the National Autism Association, both firm proponents of the vaccine autism causation hypothesis. They probably funded it because they believed it would provide evidence in support of the hypothesis. I know schadenfreude is improper, but that’s what I’m feeling now.
On a more heartwarming note, Anita Lesko and Abraham Talmage Nielsen, both autistic, got married and hosted an “All-autism” wedding. Every member of the wedding party was on the spectrum – the two flower girls and two ring bearers, the harp player, the officiant, D.J., groomsmen, usher, and the person who baked the wedding cake.
I previously said that Thora Birch should quit acting. All I did is prove I would make a useless fortune teller. She’s been cast in “Colony”.
One last thing: If you are on Facebook, please report this group. Their name is “Families against autistic shooters”, they believe that autistics are school shooters, and that’s all I need to say.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Anti-antivaccination, Autism Awareness, Fun Stuff, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.