Once again, the lives of autistics are diminished

A few things before the main event.
Pro-vaxxers have two new celebrity allies. Kristen Bell and her husband Dax Shepard are not allowing their friends near their children unless they’ve been vaccinated.
Cracked has an article on why anti-vaccine lies work so well.
And now the story that has me shaking with rage. THIS.
That article is straight up apologetics for murder. Matt has a much more accurate view.
For more information, please go to Respectful Insolence and search on “Alex Spourdalakis”.
This is just downright evil. It’s the same “autism is a tragedy” lie that devalues my life and the life of every single other autistic. Spourdalakis’s caregivers are not good people. They were offered help and they refused. Then they violently murdered Alex.
This just makes me want to scream “STOP DEVALUING US!!!” Because that is precisely what it’s doing.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Anti-antivaccination, Autism Awareness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Once again, the lives of autistics are diminished

  1. Valarie J says:

    I knew I liked Kristen Bell and Dax Shepard. I understand that some people may be overly concerned about the effects of vaccines on their children, and may want to delay their vaccine schedules, but during that time they shouldn’t be enrolled in preschool or be going to Disneyland! It is perfectly fair to refuse contact with children who have not yet had their appropriate vaccinations, especially for the serious illnesses like polio and measles.

    I’m sorry that the media continues to portray autism as a horrible tragedy. I’m studying for an MPH so I can help promote neurodiversity and encourage people to see the potential in supposedly “neurologically disabled” individuals, rather than only seeing their shortcomings. After all, who really cares if you don’t make eye contact when you can memorize pi to a record number of digits and learn Icelandic in a week?

Comments are closed.