About my birthday and other thoughts

This is a free-flowing post. Forgive me if it is a little disjointed.
Yesterday I turned 38. Yes, I share a birthday with Winston Churchill and Albert Kesselring, among others. My father has his birthday on December 3, so we had a joint birthday celebration. It was lovely. I received a number of lovely presents, and we had sushi and pâté followed by a braai. Several guests attended, including my sister and her family, an uncle and aunt of mine, and some of my parents’ neighbours.
One historical figure who was believed to be autistic is Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. I’m not convinced. The evidence I’ve seen supports a diagnosis of Tourette’s Syndrome, not autism. I’m aware the two conditions are often comorbid, but I think it unlikely that Mozart was autistic.
And now onto the big one: Bill Cosby has been accused of sexually assaulting women for years. So far, over 20 women have come forward to accuse the comedian of rape. Cosby’s case has sharp parallels with that of another person.
Jimmy Savile was a celebrity noted for his charity work, especially with vulnerable children. But after he died, a shocking truth emerged.
Behind the carefully cultivated façade, Savile had used his name to gain access to, and sexually exploit, the very children he was supposedly advocating for. On several occasions, people had tried to expose the truth, only for Savile to threaten and intimidate them into silence. Only after his death were people comfortable enough to come forward.
Cosby’s charity work in education is known. He has raised literally millions for universities. When an accuser took her story to The Enquirer, Cosby (it is claimed) used his status to get The Enquirer to drop the story. Years ago, Cosby faced a lawsuit by a woman alleging sexual assault. The case was settled out of court.
Is Cosby a sexual predator who used his name and reputation to shield himself? The evidence is looking very strong. Rape is known to be very underreported and when a rapist’s victim steps forward, it can give his other victims the courage to do the same. It would appear that, yes, for years Cosby preyed on women. The difference between him and Savile is that Savile died before he was exposed. Cosby was exposed while still alive.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.