Happy birthday to Dr. Jonas Salk

Google is set as my landing page at work and at home. Today, when I opened it, the Google Doodle showed that Jonas Salk was born 100 years ago today.
Jonas Salk invented the Injectable Polio Vaccine (IPV) that is in use today. It’s safer than Oral Polio Vaccine (OPV) but slightly less effective. Typically in a country, OPV is used until the infection rate drops below a certain point, then the injectable vaccine is used until polio is eradicated. As I mentioned before, we were so close.
Many antivaccinationists attack vaccine advocates by accusing them of being in it for the money. In Salk’s case, this is demonstrably false. He never patented his vaccine. Had he done so, he would have earned around $7,000,000,000. No, that’s not a typo. He would have been one of the richest men in history. Instead, he let everyone use it for free.
Happy birthday Dr. Salk.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.