Pushing my new hashtag

Two weeks ago, Isabella “Issy” Stapleton’s mother pled guilty to a charge of first degree child abuse to avoid a charge of attempted murder. Kelli Stapleton drove Issy to a secluded area in her van, drugged her, then lit two charcoal fires inside the van to try and suffocate the both of them. They survived. Matt has more details.
Earlier this week, a Singaporean woman was charged with murder after her autistic son fell to his death from their high-rise apartment. I never thought I’d say this, but I really wish that the death turns out to be a tragic accident.
In the Stapleton’s case, people have tried to exonerate Kelli, pointing out how difficult it is to raise a child with autism. To me, this is unacceptable. What these people are saying is that it is understandable for parents to kill their autistic children. It’s not. It sends the message that our lives are worth less because we are not neurotypical.
In my last post, I put forward the hashtag #ALifeWorthLiving.
We need this hashtag more than ever.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Autism Awareness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.