Well, that was quick

In my previous post, I mentioned that I was leaving the client where I’d been assigned for over four years, and going to a new site. Well, that was the initial plan anyway. Things have changed and I’m back where I was.

On Monday, I reported to my new site. I was told I would be taking over and that this week would be handover with me officially starting next week. The person I was taking over from would show me what to do. By Wednesday, things were going along swimmingly. Then, my head office manager showed up and told me that a woman on my old client site was going on maternity leave. Since I’d been there for over four years and knew both the client’s processes and the system under test, I was picked to replace her. I was instructed to go back on Thursday. This was a huge, and in some ways unpleasant, surprise.

My manager on the new site was unhappy, and I totally understand. Handover had been going very well, and now handover has to start anew with someone else. It had taken me over two days to get the hang of things, and the new person would have only two days to learn.

The people at my old site were surprised and pleased to see me back. It’s good to be back, but at the same time I’m worried about the site I was pulled off from.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Life, Work. Bookmark the permalink.