Random thoughts on voting and SIDS

So I voted on May 7th in South Africa’s fifth democratic general election. The results have come back, and they weren’t entirely what I’d hoped for.
I’ve been in a fight on the internet with an antivaccinationists who stated the lie that vaccines are responsible for SIDS. The antivaccinationist’s response to my refutation was to scoff. So I googled. And an interesting individual turned up in my search results.
Peter Fleming is a professor at Bristol University, a researcher at the Royal Hospital for Children in Bristol, and perhaps the world’s foremost expert on SIDS. He was behind the “Back to sleep” campaign and other simple actions that cut SIDS deaths by over half. Several studies had looked at the SIDS-vaccine link, so Professor Fleming decided to perform a metaanalysis of those studies. “Reanalyses of case-control studies examining the temporal association between sudden infant death syndrome and vaccination”. The conclusion? “Our data suggest that immunisation does not contribute to the risk of sudden infant death syndrome and may protect against it.” I found a link on the Bristol University website, but when I clicked for more details, I got a 503 error.
Hopefully, this will put the vaccines cause SIDS lie to rest.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Anti-antivaccination, Life, Segue and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random thoughts on voting and SIDS

  1. Jennifer says:

    The Sensory Spectrum is hosting a special blog hop of posts from bloggers in June and we’d love to have you participate! Just imagine a list of bloggers sharing their stories about what it’s like to have sensory kiddos! Read more here: http://www.thesensoryspectrum.com/sensory-bloggers-blog-hop-information/

    Joining in on this blog hop will undoubtedly get your blog more exposure as people will hop from one blog to the next to read the stories. I will also be tweeting everyone’s stories during the month and highlighting some on my Facebook page.

    I hope you’ll join us!
    Jennifer @ The Sensory Spectrum
    (and you can find me @ The Jenny Evolution, too!)

Comments are closed.