Worse than I thought, but not as bad as it could have been

So I completed the Midmar Mile.
As I expected, I did not break 30 minutes. To my intense disappointment, I took over 45 minutes. I was unwell and the water was choppy during the race, but I’m frustrated. 11 months of hard training for a time of over 45 minutes is a total wtf for me.
Bad as my race was, somebody has had a worse race. A Johannesburg businessman named Herman van Straten is missing. He was swimming in Event 3, but never reached the finish. He is feared dead.

Update

At 4:20pm on Thursday the 13th February, Herman van Straten’s body floated to the surface of the Midmar Dam and was recovered. Condolences to his family and fiancee.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Life, Segue and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Worse than I thought, but not as bad as it could have been

  1. Pingback: Happy belated blogoversary to me | autismjungle

Comments are closed.