On Midmar and goals

Tomorrow, I will set off for KwaZulu-Natal with my parents. On Sunday, I will be swimming Event 6 in the Midmar Mile.
This will be tempered by a displeasing (for me) fact. My intention was to swim the mile in under 30 minutes. To that end, I have spent the past 11 months training hard. But I lost the whole of April to sickness. In addition, last week I had a throat infection. The doctor told me that I could do the race, but my goal of a sub-30 is no longer viable.
On a related note, Samantha Cowan of the Breakfast Express, Highveld Stereo’s 6 to 9 AM show, will be swimming the Eight Mile in aid of Breast Cancer awareness. The Eight Mile means she will be swimming the Midmar Mile eight times, four times a day for two days. Kudos to her, and I wish her more success than my sub-30 goal.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.