An interesting and plausible hypothesis

There is an article doing the rounds on the internet. It’s title is “The boy whose brain could unlock autism“. It’s about Kai Markram, whose father Henry has come up with a new hypothesis for autism. Please, go and read it.
The hypothesis is the “intense world” syndrome. They describe it thusly:

Rather than being oblivious, autistic people take in too much and learn too fast. While they may appear bereft of emotion, the Markrams insist they are actually overwhelmed not only by their own emotions, but by the emotions of others.

This fits in with other facts. Autistics often suffer sensory overload. Around 18 months, there is a rapid die-off of brain cells. In autistics, this either doesn’t happen, or isn’t as big. On a personal note, I often find it difficult to read stories about injustices as my brain imagines me in the shoes of the wronged party. Finally, autistics have had their brains MRI’d, and it was found that the brains needed more oxygen. To me, this hypothesis is quite plausible.
As a side note, I believe that Henry Markram is himself autistic, and may want to get tested.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Autism Awareness, Background Data and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An interesting and plausible hypothesis

  1. Jame D. Hodges says:

    The common thread joining the accounts noted above is the idea that while autistics may not provide typical responses to the emotional expressions of others, autistics are by no means incapable of responding to (and by extension, detecting) emotions in the first place. Just because someone does not respond in the way that you think they ought to in a given situation does not mean that a response is not happening, internally or otherwise.

Comments are closed.