On Autism Advocacy, April Fool’s and other stuff

To all my christian readers, I wish you a joyous Easter.
Today was April Fool’s Day. There is a tradition of joke stories in the media on April Fool’s. Some people find them childish, I find them amusing. Even when you know it’s false, it’s like listening to a joke where you know the punchline: still entertaining. This year, two hoax stories were that ex ANC Youth League leader Julius Malema was joining the Democratic Alliance, and that all South African restaurants were going to start charging a cover fee of R100 a head. Several years back The Star, Johannesburg’s main daily newspaper, ran a story that South Africa had purchased Mocambique from the UN for R40-billion.
April is Autism Awareness Month. A number of places are going to “light it up blue” for autism advocacy. Disappointingly, it appears to have passed South Africa by. There are no news stories about it in the South African media websites. I’ll try to post some stuff, if life doesn’t intervene too much. As it is, I currently have a cold and am hoping to get better soon.
Finally, the “vaccines cause autism” myth is now as impressive as the Black Knight in “Monty Python and the Holy Grail”: a disarmed, legless and helpless thing. Researchers looked at the “too many too soon” argument – the claim that too many vaccines are administered too soon and that this is a cause of autism. It wasn’t. A PDF of the study can be found here.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Autism Awareness, Fun Stuff, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.