Are you freaking kidding me?!

Some days, you wonder if the universe is controlled by a prankster.
On Saturday morning, I was writing an email when my keyboard locked up.
Then my laptop screen died.
I switched off my laptop and restarted it. Nothing.
At startup, there’s a screen with the Packard Bell logo. Straight afterwards, there’s a prompt and then the GRUB loads giving me the option of Ubuntu or Windows 7. This time, nothing. My laptop switched on but the screen remained blank. No startup screen, no bootloader.
I decided to take my laptop in to Dial a Nerd. As I was taking it out to my car, one of the clips on my laptop bag strap came undone, and the bag, with my laptop inside, fell to the ground. So not only did I have a laptop that wasn’t booting, I had a laptop that probably had additional damage.
Or so I thought.
After work, I drove to Dial a Nerd on Linksfield Road. After dealing with another client, they asked what the problem was. I told them that my laptop was switching on but not booting, and to show what I meant, I turned it on. To my complete surprise the startup screen appeared, followed straight afterwards by the GRUB Bootloader. My laptop was working fine. In fact, I’m using it to post this.
Maybe the accidental drop dislodged something, maybe it just needed to stay off for 24 hours.
Or maybe there’s some creature watching me right now and roaring with laughter.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Life, Segue. Bookmark the permalink.