New in South Africa: anti-vaccination hogwash

Here we go again.
One of the few good things about South Africa’s years of isolation during apartheid was that stupid ideas like anti-vaccination weren’t imported. Unfortunately, all good things come to an end.
The Mail and Guardian had this story about a pamphlet doing the rounds claiming that vaccinations are not Halal. The pamphlet originated in Britain and was written by one Dr Abdel Majid Katme. The Islamic Medical Association of South Africa (IMA SA) has denounced the pamphlet. Dr Ebrahim Khan, its President, was interviewed for the article and his comments are overwhelmingly pro-vaccination.
Faranaaz Parker, the article’s author, mentions Andrew Wakefield‘s discredited research and the affect it has had. The article also mentions a woman who has chosen to not vaccinate and says her paediatrician supported her choice. The problem is that if enough people choose to not vaccinate, then Herd Immunity is eroded and outbreaks occur. Parker mentions the 2010 outbreak of Pertussis in California that killed 10 babies.
I would like to extend my thanks to Faranaaz Parker. Her article was concise and highlighted the dangers of not vaccinating. The comments are also pro-vaccination.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Anti-antivaccination and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.