Change of Plan

I have a problem.
A while ago, I mentioned that my goal for 2012 was to learn Quick Test Professional and become competent in Test Automation. Well, I found out that’s no longer a good option.
I began employment in 2004. In 2011, the testing house that employed me was bought out. My old employer would have let me learn Test Automation and QTP in my spare time, and would have made me a Test Automator once I showed a certain level of competence. The firm that bought it out has a different view. It will only let me become a Test Automator if I have two years development experience, which I don’t. What I do have is a desire to learn accessibility and usability.
So, do I:
Plug away for two years and learn QTP and Test Automation;
Ditch the idea completely and solely focus on Usability and Accessibility, or;
Focus on Usability and Accessibility but continue to learn QTP on my own for however long until I am accepted as a Test Automator?
Each idea has its merits and drawbacks. Plugging away for two years on Test Automation when there’s a chance that I won’t be assigned a Test Automation position appears to be the least promising. Ditching Test Automation and focussing on Usability and Accessibility looks more promising, but Usability and Accessibility are not yet well-known things in South Africa, although they could become so. Going for the double has the advantage of giving me more options, but aiming for two disparate goals has the risk that I could reach neither because I spread myself too thin.
Currently, the best option looks to be: abandon my original goal and focus solely on Usability and Accessibility. I might still go for Option 3, but learning Automation could be a waste of time and dilution of effort.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Life, Software, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Change of Plan

  1. Pingback: A geek with a hat » Unit testing is for lazy people

Comments are closed.