Ash Wednesday, Pertussis Awareness and some news

February 22nd was Pertussis Memorial Day. It was also Ash Wednesday, the start of Lent. I haven’t completely decided what I’ll give up until 2 April. I have a few ideas though.
From the Wall Street Journal comes this article. An increasing number of doctors are refusing to treat patients who refuse vaccination without a valid medical reason. While some have expressed concern over this action, I totally back the doctors. The article mentions that “a major factor was the concern that unimmunized children could pose a danger in the waiting room to infants or sick children who haven’t yet been fully vaccinated.” This to me is key. An unvaccinated child who picks up a disease puts the health and safety of every other child seen by the Practice at risk.
Finally, I’ve seen links to a study on the American Journal of Psychiatry: “Differences in White Matter Fiber Tract Development Present from 6 to 24 months in Infants with Autism”. The participants were the siblings of autistic children in an ongoing study. The researchers subjected the children to various tests, including diffusion tensor imaging at 6 months. The children who were later diagnosed with autism had “aberrant development of white matter pathways”.
This is interesting because it suggests that autism has a cause that may even be prenatal. As a side note, my mother says I was acting weirdly at just a few months old, including stiffening when touched. I’ve long believed that autism was genetic. Why? Well, you should meet my dad (if you’re reading this Dad, that’s not a rag on you).
It’s fascinating that there could be a physical tag.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Anti-antivaccination, Autism Awareness, Background Data, Life. Bookmark the permalink.