My New Year’s Resolution

It’s a new year, so for many of us, that means New Year’s Resolutions. Yet according to studies, most people who have made them will have abandoned them by the end of February. Several articles I’ve read discuss ways to avoid this.
I made a Resolution to study Test Automation and become good at it. But that’s too vague and high level. According to a pompous report, goals must be Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic and Time-based, or SMART for short.
Firstly, the goal listed above isn’t really a goal but an aim. To make it a goal, I have to make it SMART. What Test Automation Tool should I learn? Well, the client site where I’m currently based uses Quick Test Professional. So I’ll study QTP. That makes it Specific. How will I know when I’m good at it? When I can write keyword-driven Test Scripts that accurately test to the same level as the Manual Test Cases I’ve written. Now my goal is Measurable. Is it Achievable? I would say so, since I intend learning what my client site uses. Is it Realistic? I was given a short course on QTP a while back, and one of the things we had to do was write a working Test Script and I passed. Finally, what about Time-Based? Well, I’m at my current client site until the end of the year and my contract there may be renewed, but if I show I can Automate in QTP, I boost my chances of being kept on. So:
By the end of 2012, I Plan on being able to write Keyword-driven Test Scripts in QTP to test the software on which I’m currently working.
It’s not enough to have a goal, though. To reach my goal, I need both an Action Plan, and Contingency Plans in case something threatens my Action Plan. My Action Plan is to ask my Client Site to give me QTP Study Material. If that doesn’t happen, my Contingency Plans are to ask my employer for Study Material, and to google it and go to the Public Libraries to see if they have anything. Even if my Action Plan is successful, I may still use my Contingency Plans to learn more.
When I started out seven and a half years ago, it was still possible to become a high-level tester as just a manual tester. Those days are ending. That is why I set myself the goal of becoming competent in QTP by 2013. Here’s hoping I succeed.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Software, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My New Year’s Resolution

  1. Pingback: Change of Plan | autismjungle

Comments are closed.