Life imitating art, and GAVI acts

Last year, I went to see the film “Away We Go“. In it, Burt (John Krasinski) and Verona (Maya Rudolph) are expecting a baby. The two then set out to find somewhere to raise their unborn daughter. They visit family a friends in various places. One person they meet is “LN” (played by Maggie Gyllenhaal), a childhood friend of Burt’s. LN is married to Roderick (Josh Hamilton), and they have some – shall we say? – interesting ideas about raising children. One of those is to never use a pram, as “why would I want to push my child away from me?” I’m not saying any more, as that could ruin a rather funny part of the film.

The last shot from "Away We Go"

The last shot from "Away We Go".

The characters of LN and Roderick were meant to be a parody of weird parenting ideas, but guess what? Yep. Cathrine Fowler, a child health expert, now claims it is cruel to put babies and children in forward facing prams. Eish!
And now for some pro-vaccination news. The GAVI Alliance announced new funding for developing countries for vaccinations against rotavirus and pneumoccocal diseases. These actions could save the lives over half a million children every year.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Anti-antivaccination, Fun Stuff, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.