Repost – Positives, Negatives and the SIGiST

(This was originally posted on the 18th September 2010 at http://africanjungle.iblog.co.za/2010/09/18/positives-negatives-and-the-sigist/)

This week’s been busy, and a lot better than last week.

Firstly, the server has been fixed. I had a very productive week at work.

On Monday and Tuesday I woke up to find that the mosquitoes were back, and feeding. On Tuesday evening I burnt a mosquito coil and haven’t been bothered since.

I’m getting rather cross with Neotel. My Huawei unit keeps disconnecting from the internet at arbitrary moments. On Tuesday it disconnected when I was in the middle of a payment. This is now the second time that this has happened.

Another annoyance is traffic in Joburg. My current peeve is drivers entering an intersection when they can’t get out, and consequently blocking traffic when the lights turn green.

One big change has been my music. I’ve been listening to my CD’s while driving. Tori Amos, Sarah McLachlan and The Corrs are quite relaxing when having to negotiate afternoon traffic. I’m going to add some Jewel to my collection.

I happened on a blog on iBlog named The Upside of the Downside. It’s written by a mother whose oldest has autism and Cerebral Palsy. Go check it out if you’re interested.

Lastly, On Wednesday I attended the Gauteng SIGiST (Special Interest Group in Software Testing) Meeting at the Nedbank Building in 105 West Street.

The SIGiST is a subgroup of the Computer Society of South Africa (CSSA) and is based on the British Computer Society’s SIGiST. Meetings are usually held on the third Wednesday of the month. Invitations go out the week prior to the meeting. Typically, there is a presentation on a testing related subject. This month’s subject was “How not to Automate”. At the end of each presentation attendees are requested to fill out and submit a feedback form. Submitting a completed form earns the attendee lifelong points for continuous learning if the attendee is a CSSA member.

Elections for the Gauteng SIGiST Committee will be occurring in the near future. Anyone who is a paid up CSSA member can stand for election, and vote. If you wish to stand for election, please put your name forward. If you wish to vote, show up. Be warned though, it is a fair bit of work. I know; I served on the committee.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Life, Work. Bookmark the permalink.