Spring, autism and Tori Amos

Several things have happened since I last posted eleven days ago. Firstly, Spring has arrived in the Southern Hemisphere. I can now wear short-sleeved shirts and short pyjamas, and I no longer need my electric blanket. Also, it’s getting warm enough to swim.

The Rugby World Cup started. Congratulation to the Springboks for starting their campaign to retain the William Webb Ellis Trophy with a 17-16 win over Wales on Sunday.

On a worse note, 17 year old Manuel Christopher Bond has been sentenced to 12 years in prison for sexually assaulting a 16 year old autistic girl. It seems that Bond has mental problems, as this is not the first time he has sexually assaulted a girl. He was already in a program for juvenile sex offenders as he’d assaulted a 3 year old a few years ago.

Autistics Speaking Day will again be held on November 1. Due to the fact that the Communication Shutdown will not be held this year, the logo for Autistics Speaking Day has changed.

Musician Tori Amos is performing in South Africa in November. She will be at the Theatre of Marcellus. I was planning to go on Saturday, November 12, but to my surprise and disappointment, tickets sold out within seven hours. Disappointment turned to hope as I figured that if the tickets had sold out so fast, Emperor’s Palace would book another performance. And so it proved.

Today it was announced that extra seats would be made available for the Sunday show, and a new show was booked for Monday. Remembering how fast it sold out, after work I hurried to the Computicket in Checkers at Eastgate, and bought a ticket for the Sunday show.

I’m going to see Tori Amos live! WOOT!!

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Autism Awareness, Life. Bookmark the permalink.