Cannabis Therapy for Autism?

So, a few remarks on the interwebz caught my eye. It seems that some researchers are looking at giving cannabis to autistic people as therapy. The idea is that the drug will help autistics deal with anxiety.

Oh man, that's the proper

Cannabis, also known as marijuana and dagga, comes from the plant Cannbis Sativa. The active ingredient is named tetrahyrdocannabinol. Chopped up plants are used as the source. Resin scraped from the flowering heads of the female plant is known as hashish, and has a very high concentration of THC.
In most countries, cannabis is illegal. In the Netherlands, it is sold in some coffee shops with numerous restrictions.
Even though I’ve neither had, nor intend to have, cannabis, I agree with those who say it should be legalised with the same restrictions placed on the sale and consumption of tobacco. The main argument against decriminalisation is that cannabis provides entree to harder drugs, but the evidence points to nicotene being more addictive. In addition, if cannabis were legally available for sale with registered dealers, the illegal dealers wouldn’t have the opportunity to introduce people who wished to have cannabis to harder drugs.
Having said all that, what do I think of Cannabis Therapy for Autistics?
I think it’s an incredibly stupid idea. Autistic people are typically obsessive. Giving an addictive substance to an autistic is a recipe for trouble. I should know. I’m a caffeine hog as it is. I’ve also known a few addicts.
I think that the person who thought this up needs to put down the zol, and get a different idea.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Autism Awareness, Fun Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cannabis Therapy for Autism?

  1. Jacob says:

    Please do more research.

    You are a test analyst? Read some Boris Beizer and learn how to get to the bottom of things properly.

    Caffeine is a much more dangerous substance than cannabis.

  2. autismjungle says:

    That may be, but Cannabis is more addictive. My concern was with giving Autistics a known highly addictive substance, particularly since we’re known for obsessive behavior.

    • Nidreya says:

      Actually, no, cannabis is not addictive in the opiate sense.

      Please google ‘cannabis addiction myth’ and get the real science.

      Cannabis is a de-habituant. It reduces addiction and obsessive behaviours.

      Sadly, the propaganda machine has done it’s work and you believe the medicine is harmful. I am sorry but you have been lied to by the machinery of prohibition.

  3. Pingback: Cure Your Cannabis Addiction | Healthy Living Tips

  4. dennis william says:

    to the moron who wrote the article, do you have a child with Autism? And you have no clue what your talking about, you have a coffee addiction, Lulzy, comparing your starbucks moca Latte to autism, get a grip, piss on you pal

    • dennis william says:

      oh and you were diagnosed way too late, doesnt sound like autism, more like aspergers

  5. autismjungle says:

    First off, Mr Williams, Asperger’s Syndrome is a form of autism. It’s part of the spectrum. Secondly, no I don’t have a child with autism, I have autism. And I am addicted to caffeine.

    • Nidreya says:

      Do you take it as coffee or tea?

      When I worked in an office I drank more than 10 strong coffees each day.

      Now I do yoga and use medical cannabis (for my aspergers) and I drink only tea and I am not a slave to the caffeine.

      Caffeine is at least an order of magnitude more dangerous than cannabis.

Comments are closed.