Getting vaccinated, and a death

I was inoculated against flu today.
A number or years ago, I had the worst bout of flu I’ve ever had. I was flat on my back in bed for two days. The only thing I ate in those two days was a banana which I promptly vomited. On day 3 I was able to get up, but I still felt like death warmed over. In all, the illness lasted three whole weeks. During that time, I would wake up feeling reasonably well, but after few hours I would have a constant low-level nausea. On day 21, my mother looked at me and remarked that I appeared to have lost weight. When I weighed myself a few days later, I found that I’d lost almost 10kg. That is why I get my jab. Frankly, I’d rather get six jabs a day every day for a full five weeks than go through that again.
My Brother-in-Law never had chickenpox as a child. Chickenpox is often far worse in an adult than in a child, and there is a good chance that either my nephew or niece could pick it up at the local germ exchange (aka Nursery School) and transmit it to him. My experience was a week off from school and on-and-off mouth ulcers that can be controlled with copious amounts of B Vitamins. I spoke to him about getting vaccinated, only to find out that he was way ahead of me, and that Linda (a mutual acquaintance of ours) was organising it for him.
Lastly, some very sad news from Australia. A 22 year old woman has died of Diphtheria. According to reports, the woman, who was unvaccinated, contracted diphtheria from a friend who had been overseas. This was the first confirmed case in Australia since 1993.
Diphtheria was a big killer in the earlier years of the twentieth century. In 1932 vaccination against it began, and by 1950 the disease had been virtually wiped out in Australia. Diphthera is one of those diseases that produces toxins that can kill the host. This is what makes it so dangerous. Even with the most advanced healthcare, 10% of patients will die. There are various combined vacinations. DTP is the combined Diphtheria, Tetanus and Pertussis Vaccine. There is also TDaP (Tetanus, Diphtheria, acellular Pertussis) and DTaP (Diphtheria, Tetanus, acellular Pertussis) which is the most commonly used version.
Diphtheria is one of the diseases where prevention is better than cure. Please make sure that you and your children have your vaccinations up to date.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Anti-antivaccination. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting vaccinated, and a death

  1. murfomurf says:

    Excellent recommendations! I also worry about adults who, although vaccinated as children (before they developed adult views, obviously) have been persuaded by the emotion attached to the possibility that an infant might die from ANYTHING, just by hearing the true odds of death or disability from a vaccination. Since I and several friends have had whooping cough in our 40s, I always remind my friends who are becoming grandparents that they should renew their own vaccinations before babysitting the newborn family member. I was shocked when several university-educated friends were recommending the babies not be vaccinated because there was a 1 in 100 000 chance they might have a severe or fatal reaction to it! In turn they told me they hadn’t been re-vaccinated as a precaution because “I don’t catch anything and I would know if I was ill enough to pass something on”! All I could say was “Please reconsider and I strongly recommend all routine vaccinations”. Their emotional reactions to ANY possibility that a baby might die obviously clouds their judgment about the true odds of catching a disease once a baby is exposed to it. Very sad.
    It was also interesting to visit my doctor when I had whooping cough and be told he doubted I had it because my cough wasn’t “whooping” at the time I attended (it whooped wonderfully at night). Nevertheless, I asserted myself and demanded a blood test and the curative erythromycin. of course the blood test was positive, much to the 70-year-old doctor’s surprise. He should have known better!
    [Interesting you have a variety of autism: I worked with autistic people for years, have several online and real life friends with Asperger’s or autism and detected at least 3 high-functioning people amongst the professors of local universities!]

Comments are closed.