Rant Alert – South Africans drive like…

IDIOTS!!
The death rate on South African roads, as expressed in deaths per 100,000 km driven, is the third highest in the world. After what I’ve seen in the past few days, I’m surprised it’s not higher.
On the evening of April 15th there was a power failure in central Edenvale, so the traffic lights were out. Now, the general rule in this situation is to treat traffic lights as four way stops: Come to a halt, make sure it’s safe, pull off. At the intersection of Hendrik Potgieter and Van Riebeeck I came to a stop. As I was pulling off, some moron came barrelling down Van Riebeeck, flashed his lights, and sailed through right in front of me. I had to slam on my brakes, and hooted. Mr Reckless carried on, oblivious to the fact that he’d nearly caused an accident.
Three days later, I was driving up Linksfield when I saw some tow trucks racing up the road. A bit later, traffic slowed to a crawl. As I reached Edenvale High School, I saw why. A black Opel Corsa had crashed into the back of a Hyundai Tucson, and the impact had shunted the Tucson into the back of an E-Class Mercedes. As I drove past, I saw the Hyundai driver looking at the front of her vehicle, absolutely distraught. The Opel Corsa’s front end was very crumpled. Was the driver speeding, or not paying attention?
On Monday, I was stopped at the lights at the intersection of Linksfield, Club and Civin. The lights turned green and I pulled off. Disregarding the fact that the light was red in her direction, some cow sailed through in front of me and turned right. Again I had to slam on brakes and hoot. She, like Mr Reckless, carried on unabashed by the fact that had we crashed, she’d have been responsible.
I’m going to see more bad driving. The weather has been bad lately. Normally, when the weather turns nasty, people drive more carefully. In South Africa, when the weather turns nasty people tend to rush to their destination.
Eish.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Life, Segue. Bookmark the permalink.