Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

I’ve had an interesting Christmas and New Year.

Firstly, I’ve taken split leave. This means my leave is in two parts. The first part was from the 13th to the 24th December. Then I was back from the 27th to the 31st. Now I’m on leave until the 7th January. The idea is that there will always be a Software Tester on site in case something goes wrong and needs testing or retesting. I did the same thing last year at a different client site. That, in fact, is where I got the idea.

I was looking for a present for my niece. Since she is also my goddaughter, it  would have been very remiss of me not to get her a present. My sister first suggested I get her a talking chipmunk, even though in her words, “it’ll probably irritate the hell out of me in a few weeks.” That idea turned out futile. I first tried the “Toys R Us” at Stoneridge. Sold Out. Then I went to the one next to Eastgate. Also Sold Out.

In desperation I phoned my sister, told her and asked for alternate suggestions. She suggested Fisher Price Little People. The problem was, most of the things were for boys, and I didn’t want my niece’s older brother “appropriating” her present. Eventually, I settled on a Princess and Carriage. To my relief, “Toys R Us” will wrap
presents for free. I’m terrible at that.

I attended Midnight Mass. It usually starts at half-past eleven with the nativity. My mother had told me that the mass often doesn’t have readers, so I showed up dressed to the nines just in case there were no-shows. In the end, all the readers turned up.

Something happened that made my Christmas. A few months ago my missal, a present for my First Communion, went missing. At the back of the church is a small office where lost missals are placed for their owners to find them. I had been checking there week after week with no success. After Midnight Mass, I went and checked. This time, it was there.

My family celebrates Christmas at my parents’ house, as my young niece and nephew usually have an afternoon sleep. My sister “helped” my niece unwrap my gift to her. I’d also bought my nephew something. He was more interested in his sit-on bike, and my niece preferred her miniature trolley to her Princess and Carriage. I received the first two series of MacGyver on DVD, Natal Sharks tracksuit trousers, various chocolates, clothes, and other DVD’s.

My niece with her gift, and my sister in the background

 

Like I said, I was back at work the past week. On Friday, we were allowed to leave early. In the week before, I’d been contacted by SANBS and asked to donate. I gave blood, then went shopping. There was a terrible story in the news on Christmas Week. A man had gone in for an operation and there hadn’t been platelets in stock for him. He died on the table. When SANBS asked me to donate, the caller told me that they were down to just two days’ supply of blood.

New Year was rainy. The weather report showed cloud cover over the entire country. Normally, there are a lot of fireworks going off. This year, almost none. In fact, I heard some going off but didn’t get to see any. A bit of a downer, as I like watching the fireworks. Oh well.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Jungle.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Life. Bookmark the permalink.