Repost – Planned stuff, life and seatbelts

(This was originally posted on http://africanjungle.iblog.co.za/ on 15th July, 2010)

Yesterday I was going to have a busy day.

I was going to finish writing some Test Cases, and send them to a colleague of mine who would group them with his and check for duplicates. I would then listen to his feedback and possibly write some more Test Cases. After work, I was going to go shopping and then to gym. At some point, I was also going to book my car in for a service. Instead, I’m stuck at my parent’s house, booked off work until Monday, and without a car.

On Wednesday morning at approximately 6:20 I saw a pantechnicon pulled over on the N3 and prepared to avoid it. Next thing, I heard a bang, and lost control. Skidding across lanes, I was t-boned by someone who had no chance of stopping. My face was slammed against the driver’s door window. Eventually, my car hit the centre divider of the highway, and stopped. I phoned my sister and father, and got voicemail. I phoned my mother and she answered. I tried to switch on my hazard lights, but the battery must have been disconnected in the crash. They didn’t flicker. I phoned my Line Manager and told her I wouldn’t be in and why.

People came to my vehicle and asked me if I was ok. My face was covered in blood but I was lucid. The right side of my car was crumpled and we couldn’t open the doors. A tow-truck pulled my car off the centre divider, and I climbed out the left side. I took my stuff and a paramedic walked me to a stretcher. They secured my head with foam blocks and wheeled me to the ambulance. My mother arrived and took my stuff. Needless to say, my car is a complete write-off.

The reason I was able to walk away from such a vicious accident (it was on the N3, so the vehicle that t-boned me had to be doing at least 80) was because I was wearing my seatbelt. My mother was a volunteer on the ambulances and insisted that my sister and I always wore our seatbelts (thanks mum!). As a side note, when seatbelt laws were introduced the number of organ donations fell significantly. Think about that, and don’t forget to buckle up.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.