Repost – The words I use

This was originally posted on http://africanjungle.iblog.co.za/ on June 5th, 2010.

In my blog postings, I’m going to be using a number of unusual words and terms. Below is a quick guide:
Anti-vaccer/vaxxer: an individual or organisation opposed to vaccination in any form. A lot of the so-called Autism Advocacy sites are really anti-vaccer sites masquerading behind autism advocacy.
Aspergers Syndrome: High-functioning Autism. Named after Hans Asperger, an Austrian psychiatrist who was one of the first people to describe autism.

Autism Advocacy: the movement to increase the awareness and rights of autistic people in society.

Autism Self Advocate: an autistic individual who campaigns for the rights of autistics. Ari Ne’eman, who founded the Autistic Self Advocacy Network (ASAN), is one such individual.

Autistic Spectrum: the range of autistic disorders. Some people are very mildly affected and can go through life with minimal support. Those on the opposite end of the spectrum may need to be permanently institutionalised.

Neurodiversity: the movement for the rights of those with autism and other disorders. An interesting fact I have learnt is that a lot of very creative people had some sort of mental disability, not necessarily autism. Salvador Dali matched some of the criteria for Schizophrenia. Isaac Newton and Albert Einstein both had autistic traits as well as schizotypal ones.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Autism Awareness, Background Data. Bookmark the permalink.