Life and Birthdays

Last week, we had two birthdays in my family. Mine, and my father’s.

The party for my birthday happened on the 28th November. For the record, that’s not my birthday. My birthday is the same day as Winston Churchill’s. Due to space constraints, the party was held at my parents’ home.

I had decided on ribs as the main item. I don’t often get to eat them. My sister was pleased to hear this as my nephew loves ribs. At the local Spar, there were various flavours of ribs for sale. I chose Italian Mint, Pineapple, and Monkeygland Sauce (Note to non-South Africans: Monkeygland is not made from monkey glands!). I bought one rack of each flavour. Then I thought that that wouldn’t be enough, and bought a second rack of each.

What I hadn’t counted on was my mother having an upset stomach and being unable to eat any ribs. Also, for some reason, my nephew only nibbled at his ribs. The net result was that I went round to my parents on Monday and Tuesday, and had ribs for dinner both days. You can have too much of a good thing, ribs included.

I would be remiss not to mention the presents I got. One thing was a digital camera with a photo printer. This was something I had long wanted. If I hadn’t got one either for my birthday or for Christmas, I would have bought one. I also got the DVD of Kung Fu Panda, and a golf shirt.

We had the party for my father’s birthday one week later. My present to him was a herb cutter. He also got a mortar and pestle for grinding spices, a garlic press, and assorted other items. My aunt, uncle, and a cousin came round. We had salad, roast veg, and a choice of lamb stew or chicken. Yum.

All in all, a nice time both times.

Jungle.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life and Birthdays

Comments are closed.