Life, and a lot of things

A lot of things have happened in the past 10 days. Today I’m going to start with the newest things first.

There is a project called The Gateway Project. If you are 18 years or older and have access to the internet, you can register as a participant whether or not you are on the Autistic Spectrum. The website is http://www.thegatewayproject.org, and you can email them on info@thegatewayproject.org

This morning, I looked out my window, heard the weather report, and took my umbrella to work. Good thing too, as we had a downpour in Johannesburg. As a child, I could watch rain falling for hours. As an adult, I’m supposed to do work.

On Friday I attended training on Agile Development. Very interesting, particularly the bit about how it fits with Lean Processes. For lunch, we went to a nearby hotel. Lunch was a buffet. One of the dessert items was Ice Cream. The Ice Cream was put out on a rounded plate. Because it is summer in South Africa, it started to melt. A note to the Hotel: if you’re going to put out a plate of Ice Cream, put it onto a bowl filled with ice. That way, the Ice Cream doesn’t melt as fast.

On Thursday at my Client Site, I was asked to do an audit in Quality Center. One of the features in HP Quality Center is that Requirements can be linked to Test Cases. This allows for full traceability as when the Test Cases run and pass, the Requirement is automatically listed as having passed. It is thus very easy to see which requirements have been fulfilled, which have failed and need to be retested, and which haven’t been tested. The Client Site insists that there be proper linking of Requirements to Test Cases. Unfortunately, this instruction has been overlooked, and an audit of the Projects is being undertaken. The Project and Test Managers are the ones getting hammered. I have been asked to find all unlinked requirements and report them, so that the situation can be fixed. I have been hearing from comments at other sites that some people get 403 and 503 Errors when trying to view African Jungle at iBlog. In response, I set up this blog on WordPress. I originally wanted to name it African Jungle, but somebody had already used the name and deleted the blog, so I had to use Autism Jungle. Over the next few weeks, I’m going to copy my posts across from African Jungle to Autism Jungle, but I will continue posting on both blogs.

Last week Monday was Autistics Speaking Day. About a month ago, an organisation named AEIOU proposed a Communication Shutdown Day to take place on November 1st. For one day, people were asked to log off from Facebook and Twitter in support of Autistics. A number of autistic bloggers, including me, thought this was a bad idea. In a supreme moment of “Why didn’t I think of that?”, Corina Becker and Kathryn Bjornstad set up Autistics Speaking Day on Facebook as an event. Over 400 people, 80 of them bloggers, joined. At midnight GMT + 2 on November 1st, I posted at both my blogs. As soon as an attendee posted, I shared with my network. Unfortunately, at every braai, there are always chops (reference). One, a supporter of the Communication Shutdown, tried to force his views on the attendees. Another, to quote Tybalt from Romeo and Juliet, came to “fleer and scorn”, and was eventually banned for abuse. Despite the naysayers, Autistics Speaking Day was a success, and now has a permanent Facebook Page. Matt Friedman of “Dude, I’m an Aspie” has suggested holding regular Blog Carnivals to keep the event going, an idea with which I wholeheartedly agree.

One last thing. I mentioned in my Autistics Speaking Day post that I had donated blood. I had waited a long time to do it. Earlier this year I was in a car crash and had to have an operation, and was deferred from donating for three months. The South African National Blood Service gives a present to Donors when they donate for the fourth time in a year. This year’s present is a gym bag. The best part of it is a compartment in the bottom so that if your workout was a swim, you can store your wet costume, swimming cap etc. in it and not get the rest of your stuff wet. Very, very nice.

Jungle.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.