Autistics Spoke, and you listened

We spoke, and you listened

Happy Autistics Speaking Day! There is a saying that if you’ve met one Autistic, you’ve met one Autistic. In the spirit of this saying, and of the Autistics Speaking Event, I have decided to describe a number of things about myself for your interest.

  • I can be up, shaved, face washed, dressed, bed made, breakfast eaten and out the door in under 40 minutes from my alarm going off.
  • My stim is pacing, and I once walked 5km to get an ice cream.
  • I find it far easier to communicate through the written word than through speech. This is because the written word gives me the time I need to organise my thoughts properly.
  • I recycle my glass, metal, paper and most of my plastic. I also leave my geyser switched off for all but a few hours each day to save electricity.
  • I’m a reader and commentator at my church.
  • My blood type is O+; I donate blood; in 2009 I received a medal for reaching 50 donations; and less than 36 hours ago, I went and donated.
  • I am afraid of heights, to the point that if I even dream I’m up a tall building I start to panic.
  • I’m an animal lover, and I own a fishtank with at least 13 fish.
  • I will never kill a spider, not even a dangerous one, and I’ve lost count of the number of sac spiders I’ve thrown out of my flat.
  • I am brilliant at Algebra, but terrible at Euclidean Geometry.
  • I’m a Software Test Analyst, and I learnt more about computers in the first two years of my job than in my entire life up till then.
  • My dream job is to make documentaries, and if things had been different I’d probably be a Forensic Auditor.
  • I’m an ardent bibliophile.
  • As a child, my favourite author was Roald Dahl, and I still think that Matilda is the finest children’s book ever written. My favourite author as an adult is Terry Pratchett, author of the Discworld Series.
  • I will never again read Dale Brown, Guy Bellamy, or Kathy Lette.
  • I think Red Dwarf is the funniest television show ever.
  • I find Reality TV boooorrrrriiiiinnnngggg!
  • As a general rule, I dislike musicals, and I enjoyed “Mamma Mia!
  • My three favourite songs of all time are: “Bright Eyes” by Art Garfunkel; “I don’t want to wait” by Paula Cole; and “Sacrifice” by Elton John.
  • I can eat almost any foodstuff apart from Tofu – I can’t digest it and it gives me an upset stomach.
  • I’m sensitive to salt. As a child, Marmite would burn the skin around my lips, and I found bacon so salty I couldn’t eat it.

Last month, some organisations proposed a 24 hour Communication Shutdown to start on November 1st in support of Autistic people. The idea was roundly condemned by autistic bloggers, who pointed out that Social Networking was a boon to many autistics. In response, Corina Becker and Kathryn Bjornstad created the event Autistics Speaking Day on Facebook. I am one of the bloggers who joined.

We spoke. Thank you for listening to us.


About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Autistics Spoke, and you listened

  1. Awesome post! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Arlene Taylor says:

    I am speaking out… Proud to be autistic!

  3. Chris says:

    Excellent, Julian!

  4. Pingback: Autism Blog - Autistics Spoke, and you listened « Left Brain/Right Brain

  5. Liz Ditz says:

    I’m so glad I can now read your posts, Julian. That 403 Forbidden was a bit discouraging….

    Added this post to the list.

  6. Terrific post (and I’m not just saying that because I adore Red Dwarf!) Thank you for speaking on ASD and every day!

  7. KWombles says:

    Hi Julian, I’ve added this blog to the directory and left your old one up. 🙂

  8. asdmommy says:

    What a delightful list! You sound like a person I’d like to know. I look forward to reading more from you.

    I kept seeing your name pop up again and again while making the rounds Monday, and I finally got the chance to come check you out. 🙂

  9. Pingback: The Success of Speaking « No Stereotypes Here

  10. Pingback: Happy belated blogoversary to me | autismjungle

Comments are closed.