Autism prevalence up, antivaxxers have a haffy

The anti-vaxx blogosphere is up in arms. A new study has found that the rate of autism may be as high as one in fifty. Age of Autism and the (not so) Thinking Moms’ Revolution are both throwing their toys out of the cot. Orac and Matt have both covered this. I’m not linking to AoA or TMR. I’m not sure how to use NOFOLLOW, and I have no intention of giving link love to anti-vaxxers.
My belief is that there is no change in the real autism rate. I remain certain that autism has existed since before recorded history, and that 70 years after Leo Kanner and Hans Asperger named it, we are realising that it is a lot more common than we first thought.

About autismjungle

I am a Software Test Analyst. Shortly before I turned 21 I was officially diagnosed, although I had long suspected I was autistic. Welcome to my blog
This entry was posted in Anti-antivaccination, Autism Awareness, Background Data and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Autism prevalence up, antivaxxers have a haffy

  1. “Throwing their toys out of the cot” is a perfect summary. Also, thanks for the Latin! I needed that.

  2. I think what people have to see as well is the fact that there are better diagnostics,and sadly over diagnosis,what bothers me is how they come to a prevalnace number,when misdiagnosis is a big issue for many,and then there are those who slip through the diagnosis net,and there prevalnace place is lost,

Leave a Reply

